Council Elections 2018

Meet the Candidates session - live stream (courtesy of The Islander)


Council Elections are held every four years. The next elections will be held in November 2018.

Essential Dates 

  1. Applications to be on the Supplementary Voters Roll close at 5pm Friday August 10th;
  2. ‘Do you Want to be on Council’ information sessions for potential nominees commence late August;
  3. Nominations for election to Council open from Tuesday 4th September
  4. Nominations close and Caretaker Period commences 12:00 noon Tuesday 18th September
  5. Draw for position of Candidate names on the ballot paper occurs 4pm Tuesday 18th September
  6. Mail out of Voters Packs to Electors Monday 22nd October
  7. Last Day for Postal Re-issue of Voter Packs Wednesday 7th November; 
  8. Close of Voting 5pm Friday 9th November
  9. Scrutiny and Count commences 9am Saturday 10th November in the Council Chambers. 
  10. Declaration of Election results by ECSA when all ballots tallied and confirmed [can take up-to 1 week].
Confirmed Allocation for Candidates on the 2018 Election Ballot Paper

The Electoral Commission of South Australia notified Council on 26 September 2018 that the Ballot Draw has been confirmed as below.

(Order of Candidates on the Ballot Paper was determined in a draw conducted by the ECSA Local Deputy Returning Officer, and overseen by independent members of public.)

Election for Mayor [1 position]

1. Peter Clements

2. Michael Pengilly

Election for Councillor [9 positions]

  1. Graham Walkom

  2. Peter Denholm

  3. Leeza Irwin

  4. Monique Hayward

  5. Anthony (Ants) Harris

  6. Charles (Jasper) Taylor

  7. Kin Chou (Ken) Liu

  8. George (Bob) Teasdale

  9. Graeme Ricketts

10. Kym Budarick

11. Sharon Kauppila

12. Tia Anderson

13. Larry Turner

14. Rosalie Chirgwin

15. Shirley Pledge

16. Samuel Mumford

17. Linda Irwin

18. Kevin Riggs

19. Wayne Veitch

Important Voter Information 

Voting is by:

  1. Postal Vote OR
  2. by placing the completed Ballot Papers in the Ballot Box situated in the 

Council Customer Service Area
43 Dauncey Street, Kingscote

There will NOT be a Polling Day.

Electoral Commission SA will send the voting materials to all the electors on the Voters Rolls between 22-26 October 2018.

The voting materials will include:

  • Two ballot papers (1 for Mayor, 1 for the Councillor vote)
  • Voting instructions
  • Pre-paid return envelope to mail the completed Ballot Papers

Alternatively, the Ballot Papers can be placed in the Ballot Box as outlined above


Late Ballot Papers will not be accepted.

Enrol to Vote - CLOSED for current election

If you are already on the State Electoral Roll (House of Assembly roll), you automatically are registered to vote. However if you have changed your physical or postal address recently and have not changed your enrolment details you will need to do so. Please visit Electoral Commission SA website to download the change of address forms. You will automatically receive your Voters Pack from the Electoral Commission SA.

If you are unsure if you are enrolled, you can apply to be on the Supplementary Voters Roll.

You are eligible to vote if you are:

  • 18 years of age or over on or before the close of voting (Friday, 9 November 2018) and
  • A resident on Kangaroo Island. You do not have to own a house or property to enrol to vote - tenants have those rights too.
  • Non-resident property owners, including businesses, body corporates or groups, may enrol to vote.

 Information and Application forms for the Supplementary Voters Roll are available below or from the ECSA website, Council Reception and from the Penneshaw Community Business Centre.

Voter's Roll Enrolment Forms

Form 1 - Resident, Sole Owner or Sole Occupier

  • A Resident must have lived in the Council area for more than one month
  • Sole Owner person who owns property in the Council area and is the only owner
  • Sole Occupier is a tenant in the Council area and does not live in that property (a non resident occupier)

Form 2 - Body Corporate Sole Owner or Sole Occupier (tenant)

  • A body corporate sole owner oroccupier is an individual business or organisation thaht owns or occupies any type of rateable property in the Council area.

Please note: Organisations, business owners or occupiers are required to nominate a designated person to vote on their behalf who is a natural person, of or above 18 years of age.

Form 3 - Group Owners or Group Occupiers (tenants)

  • A property is owned by more than one owner (group owner) or occupied by more than one occupier/tenant) can be businesses, individual people or combination.

If you are unsure whether you are on Council Voters roll contact the Rates & Debtors Officer on 08 8553 4500.








Kangaroo Island Council | 43 Dauncey St (PO Box 121) KINGSCOTE SA 5223
Phone: 08 8553 4500 | Fax: 08 8553 2885 | Email:
Kangaroo Island Weather