Office Closure - Commencing 5pm Tuesday, 24 March

In response to the COVID-19 virus, Council’s offices at Dauncey Street and the Depot will be closed to the public until further notice.

However, Council staff will continue to provide services to the community. To order Library books, pay bills or to speak with Council staff, please phone, email or utilise our online services. For all Council enquiries & payments please phone Customer Service on: 08 8553 4500 or email alternatively, Council Payments can be made online, click here.

As per Federal and State Government requirements Playgrounds, Skate parks & Council Campgrounds are now CLOSED. Our parks and reserves remain open for your leisure.

Further updates will be communicated via Council’s website, Council’s Facebook Page, The Islander newspaper and Council’s Community window. Thank you.

Dismiss alert
Kangaroo Island Bushfires

As of Monday 24 February 2020, the Recovery Centre at 12 Jubilee Ave Parndana will be open Monday to Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm and Saturday and Sunday 10:00am to 4:00pm and can assist with all fire recovery needs, including grant applications. Phone 0438 861 215

For information on current warnings visit the CFS website.

For other Recovery Information visit Department of Human Services website. Additional information is also available on Council's website.

Dismiss alert

Citizen of the Year

Kangaroo Island Council 2020 Citizen of the Year Awards -includes 2020 Project of the Year Award and 2020 Event of the Year Award - Nominations have now CLOSED.

Awards will be given to the winners at our Australia Day Ceremony on Sunday 26 January 2020.

Past recipients of the Kangaroo Island Citizen of the Year Awards (presented 26 January - Australia Day)
  • 2019 Elizabeth (Beth) Bald (Posthumous)
  • 2018 Joy Willson
    • Exemplary Service to the Community - Beth Davis
  • 2017 Rodney Bell
    • Exemplary Service to the Community - Sue Florance
  • 2016 Allan Henderson (Voluntary Services to the Community) and Elizabeth Dieckmann (Services to Youth and Education)
  • 2015 Jeff Howard
  • 2014 Joy Wheaton (Service to the Community) and the Kangaroo Island Cancer Support Group (Community Group of the Year)
  • 2013 Libby Barrios (Service to the Community and Environment) and Carina Willson (Service to Youth)
  • 2012 Bryan Kelly (Service to Sports and Youth) - Graeme Connell (Service to Community and Emergency Services) and Heather Fisher (Service to Education and Humanity)
    • Certificate of Appreciation: Wayne and Maria Loechel
  • 2011 Kerry Kaye Boss (Service to Youth) - Ian and Libby Kelly (Service to Community)
  • 2010 Desmond Lanthois
  • 2009 Kate Williams (Charitable & Community Leadership), Geoff Rischbeith (Philanthropy and Business) and Cheryl May (Emergency & Sports)
  • 2008 Melinda Campbell
  • 2007 Bob Farnden
  • 2006 Helen Sheridan
  • 2005 Sharon Menz
  • 2004 David Edmonds
  • 2003 Graham Trethewey
  • 2002 Gwenda Kappe
  • 2001 Ann Jamieson

Past recipients of the Kangaroo Island Community Event of the Year Awards (presented 26 January - Australia Day)
  • 2019 Parndana Museum Soldier Settlement Reunion and Concert
    • Special Commendation - Variety Bash
  • 2018 100th Kingscote Show
  • 2017 Community Event of the Year - KI Players for "Blithe Spirit"
  • 2016 American River Gala Day 2015
  • 2015 Friends of Park Forum
  • 2014 Shearers Hall of Fame
  • 2013 Kangaroo Island Marine Action Group
  • 2012 Settlement Day 2011 - to be received on behalf of the community by Advance Kingscote and Pioneers Associations representatives
  • 2011 KI Art Feast 2010
  • 2010 Combined 50th Celebrations Parndana Show & Parndana School Campus
  • 2009 Timber Creek Speed Shears
  • 2008 Pink Week
  • 2007 Parndana Speed Shears
  • 2006 KI Field Day
  • 2005 Alfresco by the Sea
  • 2004 KI Field Day
  • 2003 Rock Eisteddfod
  • 2002 Kangaroo Island Netball Association 50th Anniversary
  • 2001 SA Rural Women's Gathering

Past recipients of the Kangaroo Island Community Project of the Year Awards(presented 26 January - Australia Day)
  • 2019 Heartsafe KI
  • 2018 15th Islands of the World Conference
  • 2017 Community Project of the Year - SIXTEEN LEGS: Enter The Cave Exhibition
  • 2016 R.I.G. Project (Rebuilt Indepence Group)
  • 2015 Kingscote Cemetery Heritage Project
  • 2014 American River Progress Association Inc. ‘Independence Memorial’