Kangaroo Island Bushfires

The Recovery centre for people affected by the fires on Kangaroo Island is located at Community Health Centre, 12 Jubilee Avenue, Parndana and open 7.00am - 7.00pm daily.

For information on current warnings visit the CFS website.

For other Recovery Information visit Department of Human Services website. Additional information is also available on Council's website.

Dismiss alert

Young Achiever of the Year

Young Achiever of the Year Awards

Kangaroo Island Council is committed to developing our young people, who are our future.  This Award recognises our young people's achievements in areas such as community work, sport, education, science, culture, the arts and the environment.


Past recipients of the Young Achiver of the Year Awards
(presented 27 July - Settlement Day) 

  • 2018 Holly Mueke Young Achiever of the Year
    Outstanding Achievement in Community Service, Individual - Jai Turner
    Outstanding Achievement in Community Service, Group - The Gymastics Beginner Coaches
  • 2017 Matilda Southgate Young Achiever of the Year
    Outstanding Achievement in Community Contribution - Brock Niemann
    Outstanding Achievement in Sport - Damon Freitag
    Acknowledgement of Community Service - The Breakfast Club, Kingscote
  • 2016 Georgie Horjus (Outstanding Achievement in Sport)
  • 2015 James Snowball (Outstanding Academic Achievement), Seth Whale (Outstanding Youth Leadership)
  • 2014 Georgina Jefford (Outstanding Community Service), Rachel Church (Outstanding Sporting Achievement), Jayden Freitag - Young Entrepreneur and KI Youth Parliament Team 2014 - Community Youth Team (Mikayla West, Connor Hall, Aidan Hamilton, Alejandro Bohorquez and Jorrelie Avila-Letton)
  • 2013 Joint Winners Erin Morrison and Mikayla West and Group Winner Rock Eisteddfod Student Committee
  • 2012 Harley Dunstan and Justice Allison
  • 2011 Stephanie Richter and Sophie Lewis
  • 2010 Ruby Byass
  • 2009 Kate Buck
    Outstanding Community Service Award (Program) - KICE Sailing Team
    Outstanding Community Service Award (Individual) - Hannah Stephenson
  • 2008 Jenny Behenna
    Outstanding Community Service Award (Program) - KI Dolphin Watch
    Outstanding Community Service Award (Individual) - Daniel Willson
  • 2007 Tim Buck
  • 2006 Peter Tremaine
  • 2005 Maxine Breeding
  • 2004 Melissa Turner
  • 2003 Kingscote Area School Prize Winning Pie-making Team
  • 2002 Jasmin Lade
  • 2002 Outstanding Personal Achievement Award - Jenna Duffy
  • 2001 Bradley Jamieson
  • 1997 Brendon Lade