Kangaroo Island Bushfires

The Recovery centre for people affected by the fires on Kangaroo Island is located at Community Health Centre, 12 Jubilee Avenue, Parndana and open 7.00am - 7.00pm daily.

For information on current warnings visit the CFS website.

For other Recovery Information visit Department of Human Services website. Additional information is also available on Council's website.

Dismiss alert

Progress Associations

Progress associations are local resident associations, owned and run by their members. Any resident is entitled to and welcome to become a member of their local progress association. They often communicate their concerns and suggestions to appropriate government departments, the local council or other relevant organisations.

Please see below for all details of Progress Associations on Kangaroo Island. For all updates of these details below please email your request to: kicouncil@kicouncil.sa.gov.au


Advance Kingscote 

Things that at times seem to just magically appear are actually the result of a lot of background planning and work. A small dedicated group of people with the assistance of local businesses, community organisations, government departments, and the willing support of the Council, have achieved real benefits for the Kingscote area.

Correspondence: PO Box 604, Kingscote SA 5223
Chair: Graeme Connell, 08 8553 2369 or gcr.connell@bigpond.com
Vice-Chair: John Clements
Secretary: Beth Davis
Treasurer: Stephen White
Email: advancekingscote@gmail.com
Web Site: http://www.advancekingscoteki.com


American River Progress Association

The association exists to further the interests of the people of American River and surrounds. It does this by encouraging the development of facilities which will be of advantage to residents and/or visitors to the area. As an incorporated body the association is able to apply for grants to build and maintain public amenities.

Correspondence: PO Box 45, American River SA 5221, arpainc@gmail.com
President: Jen Stevenson, 0409 350 564, jenstevenson@activ8.net.au
Vice-President: Richard Cotterill, 0497 332 227, richard.cotterill@bigpond.com
Secretary: Heidi Campbell, jas.has-mccann@hotmail.com
Treasurer: Reen Worrall, 0427 820 721, reenw4@bigpond.com


Baudin Beach Progress Association

Correspondence: PO Box 762, Penneshaw SA 5222, baudinprogress@yahoo.com.au
Chair: Des Lanthois, 08 8553 1483, elm76@optusnet.com.au
Vice-Chair: John Sabel, 08 8553 1090
Secretary: Cindy Heinrich, 08 8553 1350
Treasurer: Pauline Lanthois, elm76@optusnet.com.au


Emu Bay Progress Association

Correspondence: PO Box 371, Kingscote SA 5223
Chair: Cherie Tyley, 08 8553 5311, cherietyley@gmail.com
Secretary: Catherine Murphy, cmurphy@internode.on.net
Treasurer: Jan Baker


Harriet River Township Ratepayers Association Inc.

Correspondence: PO Box 94, Parndana SA 5222, hrtra@bigpond.com
President: Jo Dunstan, 0448 559 or 08 8559 4260, jo.dunstan@activ8.net.au
Secretary: Vacant
Treasurer: Vacant


Parndana Progress Association

Correspondence: C/- Post Office, Parndana SA 5220
Chair: Katrina Wills, Ph: 0439840758, katrina.wills2@bigpond.com
Vice-Chair: Cheryl May, 08 8559 6013, 0427 596 013, tpcmmay1@bigpond.com
Secretary: Helen Wurst, 08 8559 2240, 0428 592 200, wurst@skymesh.com.au
Treasurer: Barb Cooper, 08 8559 6169, 0427 297 638, coopers@activ8.net.au
Public Officer: Anne-Marie Clark, 08 8559 5131, 0428 191 518, paclark@mackra.com.au


Penneshaw Progress Association

Correspondence: PO Box 561, Penneshaw SA 5222
Chair: Betty McAdam, 08 8553 1237, 0488 506 279, penneshawprogress@gmail.com
Deputy-Chair: Mark Gilpin, 0417 869 680, markgilpin16@gmail.com
Secretary: Robyn Field, 0417 806 758, jacks@internode.on.net
Treasurer: Joy Willson, 08 8553 1065, 0438 876 811, joy.don2@bigpond.com
Committee:
Sharon Clark, clark5859@hotmail.com
Kristy Tannebring, 0422 266 007, kristyt30@hotmail.com
Graham Trethewey, 08 8553 1109, trethewey@kin.net.au
Jayne Bates, 08 8553 1087, 0427 530 080, bateski@bigpond.com.au
Megan Harvie, 0488 035 887, braesideprops@bigpond.com
Kathy Green, 0418 902 227, kathy.green59@yahoo.com.au
Sarah Strong-Law, 0405 771 700, stronglaw@hotmail.com


Sapphiretown Island Beach Residents Progress Association Inc.

Correspondence: PO Box 600, Penneshaw SA 5222,  sirpacommunity@gmail.com
President:
Secretary: Sandy Carey, 08 8553 7009, sirpacommunity@gmail.com